Back to being a student!

12 Jan

Another two week hiatus. Yes, yes, I know, I said I was going to be better about blogging more consistently. But ya see, if I’m going to share recipes, that means I have to actually cook. Which I have have done very little of in the past two weeks. The poor hubby has been living off of pizza, chips, and ice cream for dinner.

So since I have no recipes to share, I figured I’d ramble on about something else that I’m starting to take a little more interest in as well. And that “something else” is photography! Which also plays a part in this here blog! I’m trying to improve my skills so that I don’t blind you with the horrible pictures I post.

I bought my baby, a Canon Rebel t2i, last April before we went on our trip to Italy. While in Italy, I shot almost every picture on auto mode. Mainly because I didn’t know how to use the beast and didn’t want to miss out on any photo opportunities. But when we got home I forced myself to start using the manual mode. So far I’ve deleted way more pictures than I’ve kept. And it still takes me at least ten attempts before I get a some what decent photo.

So after owning this beast of a camera for nine months and still not knowing a lick about working it, I decided it was finally time to enroll in a class. Being that the self-teaching method obviously wasn’t getting me too far. Apparently I need someone to hold my hand and show me how to use it.

Last night was class number one! I took the Digital SLR1 class at National Camera Exchange. And I learned a TON! I thought for sure I would get bored with a two and half hour camera class, but it was actually the exact opposite! I already can’t wait for the next three classes! Now I just have to practice all of the information they taught us!!

A few of the key points for me were:

It helps me to have general guidelines for ISO! I need to commit these values to memory so I don’t have to adjust it a million times!

Oh, shutter speeds! Determines how much light is transmitted into the camera. Very important when working with moving objects!

(And p.s. these two pictures were taken with my phone, not my SLR. Don’t be judging my picture-taking abilities quit yet!)

And the final thing I learned in class, I am missing a few vital accessories! Oh shoot! Gotta do a little shopping! I need to buy a lens hood and circular polarizer! Both have the potential to drastically improve outdoor pictures!

Now if only it wasn’t ten degrees outside so I could go out and practice!

Leave a Reply

