Swedish Nuts–best christmas present ever!

27 Dec

After an eleven day hiatus, iii’mmm bbbaaaccckkk!!! Hopefully I can get back into the blogging swing now that the holiday chaos is over!! Love the holidays, but this year I was ready for them to be over. So nice to finally sit my butt on the couch again! And not have a shopping and to-do list ten feet long!

At Christmas a couple of years ago, my grandma had brought a bowl full of sugar-coated pecans. And I sat perched next to that bowl the entire night. Apparently I raved enough about how good they were because now I get a zip-lock baggie full every year for Christmas! Best present ever!! And yes, I did snack on them while I opened the rest of my presents!

They are delicious by the hand-full, but also amazing on salads. Love the extra little sugary-crunch!

Notice the bowl is a little sparse. Oops! Actually had a hard time finding a small enough bowl for the photo-op. But all I have to say, is you’re lucky I got a picture before I ate ’em all!

Swedish Nuts

1 pound pecans

2 egg whites, beaten stiff

1 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter

In a large bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff. Fold in the sugar and salt. Fold in the pecans.

Melt 1/2 cup butter on a jelly roll pan. Add the nut mixture. Roast at 325 degrees for thirty minutes, tossing every ten minutes. Bake until they are light brown. Remove from the oven and immediately separate the nuts as needed.

 

Leave a Reply

