Baked Egg Rolls

7 Feb

Last night for dinner I was craving something light and fresh. I think the beautiful, sunny weather yesterday got my taste buds in the mood for summer. I’ve almost had my fill of the warm, heavy, comforting winter-food (I think my jeans are sick of it too!)

What to make, what to make, what to make. Open fridge door. Open pantry door. Look in two cookbooks. Browse Pinterest. Go back to fridge. And suddenly an ah-ha moment! The left-over homemade sweet and sour sauce sparked an idea! Baked Egg Rolls it is!

The yummy filling! Cabbage, carrots, green onion, garlic, and shredded chicken! Somewhat light, right?

Now for the part I’ve always been intimidated by, the wrapping! For some stupid reason, I’ve never made egg rolls because I was afraid they would unroll when I picked it up to take a bite. The dang perfectionist in me held me back.

Well guess what, not a single one fell apart! A little drop of water does the trick to seal ‘em up!

Baked Egg Rolls

1 tablespoon olive oil

3 green onions, chopped

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/4 cup shredded carrots, coarsely chopped

2-3 tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon ginger

10 ounce can of chicken, shredded

2 1/2 cups shredded cabbage

10-12 egg roll wrappers

Heat olive oil over medium heat in a medium sized skillet. Add the green onions, garlic, and carrots. Saute for two to three minutes. Mix in the soy sauce and ginger. Stir in the chicken and cabbage. Cook an additional two to three minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lay one egg roll wrapper on work surface with one corner pointing towards you (so it looks like a diamond.) Spoon two to three tablespoons of mixture into the center of the wrapper. Fold the bottom corner over the mixture. Then fold in the two sides and roll jelly-style. Rub a small amount of water on the top corner to seal the wrapper. Place seam side down on a greased baking sheet. Continue with remaining wrappers. Bake for 15-20 minutes- flipping the egg rolls half way through.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 592 other followers

