Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

16 Dec

I’ve seen these cookies on cookie platters for years, but have always passed them up. Instead I grab for the sugar cookies that have been frosted so pretty and the soft and chewy peanut butter blossoms (notice I said “and” not “or.” That’s because I eat both. And then some.)

 A few days ago a patient brought a heaping plate of Christmas cookies into the clinic and everyone was going absolutely crazy over the Chocolate Crinkle Cookies. Out of the many, many cookies, the chocolate crinkle was the cookie of choice for many of the nurses! When there was only one left I decided to grab it to find out what all of the craze was about!

And now I totally understand. Pretty much taste like a dense fudgey brownie rolled in a ball! Why, oh why, did I wait so long to try these!

Weirdly enough, that evening as I was doing my nightly blog reading, Iowa Girl Eats had just written a post about these being her favorite Christmas cookies! When I read that the cookie dough had to chill over night, I flipped back my warm, cozy blankets and went straight to the kitchen. I had to stir ‘em up that evening so I could bake ‘em the next morning! Which meant, cookies for breakfast! YUM!

Love how each cookie looks a little different! Little pieces of artwork! Almost too pretty to eat!

Sometimes they don’t crack and crinkle the prettiest. But thankfully they still taste just as good!

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

1/2 cup cocoa

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup powdered sugar

In a medium sized bowl, mix together cocoa, sugar, vegetable oil, and vanilla. Beat in eggs, one at a time, until mixture is smooth. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix into wet ingredients in 3 batches, mixing until just combined in between each batch. Cover the dough and chill for at least 4 hours, or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Scoop out 1 tablespoon dough and roll it into a ball. Roll in powdered sugar. Place on a non-stick baking sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes. Let cookies cool on the baking sheet for 2-3 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

Source: Iowa Girl Eats

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 592 other followers

