Apple Pancake Rings

23 Nov

A few weeks ago I was at a friend’s house meeting her stinkin’ cute little baby boy! We were chatting, laughing, and just plain old catchin’ up while I was snuggling the little one. The TV was on in the background, but neither one of us were paying much attention to it. That is, until I heard the word “pancake!” Immediately my ears perked up and my eyes were glued to the television. And then they mentioned “apple,” which is another one of my love childs (I eat one nearly every day!) Put the two together– apples and pancakes– and I suddenly have a new obsession!

They look like normal, ordinary pancakes, don’t they? And where are the apples I speak of?!?

There they are! In the middle! Coated in delicious pancake batter that is jazzed up with a little pumpkin pie spice and lemon zest!

I’m serious when I say obsession. Eat them three days in a row kind of obsession. And even made a special trip to the grocery store just for apples. Didn’t buy a single thing other than apples!

In the midst of this obsession, I tried the pancakes with three different kinds of apples! And Gala definitely won the contest! It’s a slightly softer apple. Which just seems like a better match to the fluffy pancakes.

 

Apple Pancake Rings (Featured on The Chew)

1 cup Bisquick baking mix

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Zest of 1/2 a lemon

2 medium apples, pared and cored

 

Beat baking mix, egg, and milk with rotary beater until smooth. Add pumpkin pie spice and lemon zest to batter and mix until incorporated.

Core and cut apples crosswise into 1/8″ slices.

Using a toothpick or knife, dip apple slices into the batter. Place on a greased griddle. Cook on medium-hot griddle until golden brown. Serve hot with syrup or cinnamon and sugar.

 

*I did also try making these using a just-add-water pancake mix and they were just as delicious. But I did still add in the pumpkin pie spice and lemon zest.

 

4 Responses to “Apple Pancake Rings”

  1. kat November 24, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Oh my gosh, this looks great!! Saving this for breakfast! :)

  2. frugalfeeding November 24, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    These are a really cool idea!

  3. Krista February 6, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    I made these for my sons tonight, and they loved them! Although I have to admit that I messed up a bit. I thought that I had grabbed the box of baking mix, but grabbed the pancake mix instead! Not sure if that made a difference (I had still added the milk and egg not knowing until afterward).

  4. IvyMom March 4, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    These were great. Made them for breakfast this morning. Easy and delicious. They will be repeated often!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

