Lettuce Wraps

3 Nov

I absolutely love, love Chinese food, but absolutely hate that two hours later my fingers have swelled and my ring is stuck. I’m not a huge salt person (but I am a huge sugar person!) I never add it to recipes when baking, rarely crave chips, and haven’t filled the salt shaker in over two years.

A couple weeks ago I sampled the lettuce wraps at P.F. Changs and while the flavor was wonderful, they were a little heavy on the salt and grease for my likings. I knew I had to recreate a low-sodium version at home!

The base of this recipe is from a coworker who is married to a Japanese gentleman! I just added a few minor twists to the recipe with the additions of honey, green onions, and peanuts!

A wonderful light, but highly satisfying dinner option!!

Lettuce Wraps

2 pounds ground chicken

1/2 cup chopped onion

3/4 cup hoisin sauce

4 teaspoons low sodium soy sauce

1 teaspoon sesame oil

1 teaspoon honey

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger

2 tablespoons chopped green onions

handful of chopped peanuts

romaine lettuce leaves

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add the ground chicken and chopped onion. When the chicken is done browning, drain off any excess grease/juice.

In a small bowl, mix together hoisin sauce, sesame oil, honey, minced garlic, and grated ginger. Whisk together and pour over chicken. Add green onions and chopped peanuts to the mixture. Mix until chicken is evenly coated with sauce. Allow to heat through.

Spoon mixture down the middle of romaine leaves. Roll together and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 594 other followers

