Switching Gears

25 Oct

I am trying my absolute hardest to avoid everything pumpkin for at least a week. So I’m switching fall-flavor gears and moving onto apple! Which I love almost equally as much! Mainly because of apple’s partner in crime, cinnamon!

I died and went to heaven after my first baked oatmeal. And since then I have been obsessed with baked oatmeals!

I might have a little confession to make regarding this baked apple oatmeal. The first time I made it I had a heaping bowl for breakfast and then divided the leftovers into a few containers to have for breakfast the remainder of the week. Well my attempt at planning ahead ended in an epic fail. Ended up eating one of the containers after I got home from the gym. And then heated up the final container for lunch! Oops! So in otherwords, I ate the whole darn casserole size oatmeal in a mere four hours! Oink-oink!

Yes that is a little sprinkle of brown sugar on top! Brown sugar is another one of my weaknesses! Eat it by the spoonfuls. Almost daily.

Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

2 cups old fashioned oats

1/4 light brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 cups milk

1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce

1 tablespoon melted butter

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup peeled and diced apples

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8×8 inch baking dish with cooking spray

In a large bowl, combine oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, and baking powder.

In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, applesauce, butter, egg, and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients. Stir until combined. Fold in the diced apples. Pour mixture into greased pan.

Bake for 20 minutes or until oatmeal is golden brown. Remove from oven and serve while warm. May top with brown sugar, raisins, craisins, or chopped nuts.

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

2 Responses to “Switching Gears”

  1. Savory Simple October 25, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Love it! I’ve been having oatmeal with apples almost every morning. So filling and delicious!

  2. thebigfatnoodle October 25, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Can’t go wrong with apples and oats, yummy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 592 other followers

