Chocolate Cupcakes for Cheaters

16 Oct

Let me start by just saying, Usually I’m a follow-all-the-rules-goodie-goodie. But today I cheated! And I’m not even ashamed.

Because who can get mad when it is something that includes chocolate!  Oh good, I’m glad you’ve already forgiven me!

Over the past year I have tried numerous chocolate cupcake recipes. Several of them claiming to be “the best.” But they all lied. And I always ended up disappointed. Every batch was either too dry or not quit chocolatey enough. Maybe I had too high of standards, but I knew what I wanted and I wasn’t going to settle.

I had tried everything. Adding coffee, increasing the amount of cocoa, melted chocolate. Nothing worked.

I only had one choice. To cheat and doctor up a boxed cake mix. And of course they ended up moist and full of chocolate flavor! And I promise no one will ever guess that they were made from a box!

People always ask for the recipe and I just smile and say “it’s top secret.” So yes, now I’m a cheater and a liar!

Cheater Chocolate Cupcakes

1 box Devil’s Food cake mix

1 box chocolate fudge instant pudding

4 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 cup milk

1 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Using a stand mixer, combine all ingredients. Beat for about two minutes. Place slightly less than a 1/4 of a cup of batter into each cupcake liner. Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Source: Kevin and Amanda

2 Responses to “Chocolate Cupcakes for Cheaters”

  1. Leslie Cook October 16, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Oh my god, those look so yummy. I’m going to try the recipe, because I’m all about cheating when cooking. The more cheating, the better! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. frugalfeeding October 17, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    Tut! You know it was chocolate week in Britain last week – I enjoyed it, a lot. The cupcakes look great and they are beautifully iced… but they don’t count, you cheated :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

