Perfect Scrambled Eggs

13 Oct

I love, love, love all carbohydrates! With probably about 90% of the food that goes in my mouth being some form of carb. And no, they are not always the “good” carbs! I have a huge sweet tooth and just may be slightly addicted to sugar! Nothing wrong with finishing every meal with a little sweet treat, right? Umm, wrong! Totally not necessary. I have tried several times to kick this habit, but have always failed miserably! So apparently a different approach is needed.

And that approach entails more protein and less carbs! Starting with breakfast. Ignore that slice of toast on the plate! It’s only there as a prop! Okay, okay I may have eaten half of it. Oops! {FAIL}

I’ve been trying to start every morning off with a few eggs. And it usually goes a little something like this…Heat pan. Crack eggs. Get impatient. Try to flip too soon. Crack yolk. Runny egg mess in frying pan. End up with scrambled eggs. Wish I was eating oatmeal instead.

I’m not really a fan of scrambled eggs unless the works is mixed into them. But who has time to chop peppers, tomatoes, and onions before work.  Especially if you hit snooze on your alarm clock ten times. We’ll fix that habit at a later date!

But this morning I started the process with scrambled eggs being the goal. All because I found a post about the “perfect” scrambled eggs that pretty much told me I’ve doing it all wrong. Apparently there is a method to the madness. Thought I’d give it a shot. Being that I always end up with scrambled eggs anyways, I might as well do it right and hopefully actually like eating them!

Well the recipe didn’t lie! They were mighty tasty! Guess a little butter and milk makes everything better! And not once did I miss my carb-loaded oatmeal!

Perfect Scrambled Eggs

1 teaspoon butter

3 large eggs

1 tablespoon milk

Salt and pepper

Heat skillet over medium-low heat. Melt teaspoon of butter. Break the eggs directly into the pan. Season with salt and pepper. Using a wooden spoon, continually stir the eggs, scraping the bottom of the pan. When the eggs are almost done but still slightly on the wet side, add the tablespoon of milk. Continue to stir the eggs until the milk is absorbed. Turn off the heat and season with additional salt and pepper if needed.

Source: Brown Eyed Baker

2 Responses to “Perfect Scrambled Eggs”

  1. neasa October 13, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I use this same recipe but with I tablespoon for every egg used. Also if you use a saucepan rather than a flat frying pan it turns out perfect scrambled eggs (I’m a bit of a scrambled egg addict)

  2. lovetwentysomething October 14, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    I’m the same way, I love my sugary cereal and muffins, but I feel so much better when I have a breakfast without so much sugar in it; I feel a million times better and seem to make better food choices throughout the day. I’m always on the lookout for other ideas (because let’s face it…the breakfast food group is pretty limited when you cut sugar), so thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 594 other followers

