Pumpkin Pancakes

22 Sep

And it continues! Another pumpkin recipe!!

Obviously I have an obsession with pumpkin, but you may not know that I am equally obsessed with pancakes! I pretty much lived off of pancakes and cream-of-wheat a few years ago when I was living with a couple of girlfriends. Made grocery shopping pretty darn easy! But then this thing called marriage happened and I was forced to expand my cooking a little. Figured Zach wouldn’t have really appreciate a piping hot plate of pancakes being placed in front of every night for dinner. But I do still manage to sneak in the good ‘ol “breakfast for dinner” meals a couple times a month! And thankfully he eats them without saying a peep!

Last fall I stumbled upon a pumpkin pancake recipe and immediately thought I had died and gone to heaven! Quit possibly the best idea ever! I went straight to the kitchen fried up a pumpkin pancake, slathered it with butter, a little sprinkle of sugar on top, and dove right in! But stopped after one bite. They were pretty much tasteless. So I added a little more cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar! Easy solution, right? Fried up another pancake and had the same results. A flour-tasting patty on plate. The blandest pancakes I’d ever had. At that point I gave up and dumped the whole mixture down the drain! Such a disappointment!

But there was no way I could let such a wonderful combination be wasted. I was determined to find a good recipe this fall. Luckily it happened the first time around! I turned to one of my favorite blogs Annie’s Eats and used her recipe as a base! With just a few minor changes, they were just to my liking! Full of spice!

Pumpkin Pancakes

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin spice

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Dash of ground cloves

1 cup milk

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1 large egg

2 tablespoons melted butter

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and spices and stir with a fork to combine.  Mix together the milk, pumpkin puree, egg and butter in a liquid measuring cup.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and whisk together just until combined.

Heat a greased skillet or griddle over medium heat.  Once the skillet is hot, add a 1/3 cup of batter to the pan.  Let cook until bubbles begin to form on the top surface.  Carefully flip with a spatula and cook the second side until golden brown. Repeat with the rest of the batter until it has all been cooked, regreasing the pan as needed.  Serve with cinnamon sugar, maple syrup, and/or whipped cream.

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Pancakes”

  1. Jenna September 22, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    These look wonderful. I will absolutely be trying these!!

  2. Jennifer @ Jane Deere September 23, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    I came across your blog on Tidy Mom and I love your post!

  3. Andria September 26, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    I love, LOVE pumpkin. I’m defrosting some pumpkin right now to give these a try. Thank you for the recipe!

  4. Sarah E. September 30, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I am obsessed with pumpkin too! YUMMMMMM! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 595 other followers

