Zucchini Fries

14 Sep

Last week when I opened the bottom drawer of the refrigerator I discovered that apparently I had only been putting zucchini in the drawer and not taking any out. To say I had a few zucchini on my hands would be an understatement. And worst of all, a few of them were already starting to get a little soft. I scoured the internet high and low for quick recipes to use up a few of them. Particularly one where I already had all of the ingredients and could make it for lunch.

I was sold on this recipe as soon as I read the word “fries.”

Zucchini Fries

Medium zucchini cut into 3″ x 1 1/2″ sticks

1 egg

1/3 cup seasoned bread crumbs

2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a small bowl, beat egg and season with salt and pepper. In a ziplock bag, place bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, and garlic powder. Shake well to combine.

Spray baking sheet with cooking spray. Dip zucchini sticks into the egg. Toss in bread crumb mixture until evenly coated. Place on baking sheet in a single layer. Spray the top of zucchini fries with cooking spray. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with warm marinara sauce.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

